The OLBG Army of Tipsters will be providing their best bets for this event.
In the meantime check out the content below for more information about betting on this event.

About the EFL Trophy Soccer Picks

The English Football League Trophy, better known as the EFL Trophy and due to current sponsorship, the tournaments official title is the 'Papa Johns' Trophy.

The tournament runs from August through to April with the two finalists getting the great opportunity to play at Wembley. This means we will have Papa Johns Trophy predictions throughout the season from our expert soccer handicappers.

Should there not be any EFL Trophy predictions tonight then it will mean there are no scheduled matches at this minute. So why not head over to the 'Best Soccer Tipsters' page to see what picks they have to offer today.

For fixtures, results, standing and all the latest news from the EFL Trophy head over to the official EFL website.

Using the EFL Trophy Betting Picks

Along with each match scheduled to take place, also will be displayed is the outright market. See which team our soccer experts are picking to win the EFL Trophy this season.

When there is a round of matches, each match will be listed on this page complete with the kick-off time. The most tipped outcome could come from multiple markets including full-time results, total goals, btts (Both Teams To Score) and many more.

For your convenience, the most tipped outcome is listed on this page along with the number of picks for the outcome and the total number on the market. This gives you the percentage of picks for the outcome. This percentage along with the current odds, which are also displayed are used to calculate a 'Value Rating', this is a five-star rating.

EFL Trophy Format and Past Winners

The EFL Trophy is open to the clubs in the third and fourth tier of the English League. As well as the teams from League One and Two, Premier League U21 teams were also introduced to the competition since the 2016-17 season.

The tournament starts off with sixteen groups of four teams where each team plays each other once totalling three games each. The top two teams from each group progress into the knock out stages until we are left with just two teams who play the final at Wembley.

Bristol City has won the trophy the most number of times, they have won it on three occasions as well as losing in the final twice. Carlisle has made the final six times but has only picked up two wins, being losing finalists four times!

Here are the last ten winners of the EFL Trophy:

2021-22Rotherham4-2 (AET)Sutton
2019-20Salford0-0 (4-2 Pens)Portsmouth
2018-19Portsmouth2-2 (5-4 Pens)Sunderland
2017-18Lincoln City1-0Shrewsbury Town
2016-17Coventry City2-1Oxford United
2015-16Barnsley3-2Oxford United
2014-15Bristol City2-0Walsall

Steve Madgwick and Andy Powell, the experts behind OLBG's comprehensive English Football League (EFL) coverage of the EFL Trophy, bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to their work.

Steve Madgwick

Steve Madgwick


Steve Madgwick is a seasoned sports betting expert with a passion for EFL football. A Portsmouth fan for 40 years, Steve has seen action in every Division of English football and followed his team to Europe and the FA Cup final twice.
Andy Powell

Andy Powell

Content editor

Andy Powell is a fervent Ipswich Town supporter and a passionate EFL football expert. His unwavering allegiance to the club has fueled his deep understanding of the English Football League, immersing him in the dynamics of the competition over the years.
{"page":"league","url":"\/us\/betting-picks\/Soccer\/UK\/England_EFL_Trophy\/1","geo":"us","sportId":"1","category":"All Categories"}
By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!