OLBG App 5K+ Tips Search Members Logout Login Register

Nobel Peace Prize Betting and Previous Winners

Published: Aug 21, 4:09pm Last Updated: Oct 8, 12:49pm 0 Comments 514 Views

Nobel Peace Prize Headlines

  • Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov win the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize.

  • The Chairman of the Nobel Committee said "free independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies, and war propaganda".

Nobel Prize Award

Greta Thunberg should win the Nobel Peace Prize. She has been putting pressure on world leaders and does not hold back. She is doing exactly the kind of work that should win a prize such as this.

OLBG Member: BettingFormula

Nobel Peace Prize Betting Odds

The Nobel Peace Prize is the best known of the awards created by Swedish scientist and businessman Alfred Nobel. 

First awarded in 1901 the awards are the most prestigious intellectual achievements in the world. 

Each winner receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a monetary award. 

The other 4 awards are for

  • Chemistry
  • Literature
  • Medicine
  • Physiology

The annual peace awards are decided by a 5 person Norwegian committee of the great and the good at the behest of the Alfred Nobel estate.  

Over the years the Nobel awards have received plenty of criticism and controversy especially the Peace Prize. 

The Nobel Awards are formally awarded every year on the same date - December 10th, although the winners are normally announced in early October.

Nobel Peace Prize Betting is on offer from a selected number of bookmakers.

If you are new to betting please visit our guide to understanding bookmakers.

Nobel Peace Prize Betting

The following organisations and individuals were the leading contenders for the Nobel Peace Prize with bookmakers in 2021

A byline is not enough to fully explain the work these individuals and organisations have undertaken in the cause of peace.

Please undertake further reading to fully appreciate their contribution and the reason why they featured at the top of the Nobel Peace Prize betting market. 

The WHO were generally favourites for the Nobel Peace Prize with most bookies, the difference in odds comes when you looked lower down the list of nominees. 

As we found out when the prize was announced none of the leading contenders won the award. 

Nominee Peace Cause
World Health Organisation (Including COVAX and GAVI) Covid 19 Management & Roll Out
Reporters Without Borders Safeguarding Press Freedom
Alexei Navalny
Russian Anti-Corruption Campaigner
Svitlana Tsikhanouskaya Human Rights Activist
Greta Thunberg
Climate Change Activist
UNFCCC Climate Change 
Nathan Law Kwung Chung Hong Kong Activist
Palestinian Centre For Human Rights Human Rights Organisation
Mahmoud Abbas President Of Palestine
Jacinda Ardern Praised for her handling of Covid 19 in New Zealand
Joe Biden Rejoined Paris Climate Agreement
Bill Gates
UNHCR UN Refugees Organisation
Angela Merkel Action on German energy reform and leadership of migrant crisis
Committee To Protect Journalists Defends the rights of journalists and actively campaigns for press freedom
The Arctic Council Arctic forum between nations
European Union Encouraging stability and friendship between nations

Nobel Peace Prize Previous Winners

The winners of the Nobel Peace Prize since 2010 are listed below. 

To read more about their valuable work towards peace please undertake an internet search. 

The next winner/s will be announced in  October 2022. 

 Year Nobel  Peace Prize Laureates Peace Cause
2021 Maria Ressa & Dmitry Muratov  Journalists- Freedom Of Expression
2020 World Food Programme Combating Hunger
2019 Abiy Ahmed Border Conflict
2018 Dennis Mukwege/Nadia Murad Sexual Violence
2017 International Campaign For The Abolishment Of Nuclear Weapons Nuclear Weapons
2016 Juan Manuel Santos Colombian Civil War
2015 Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet Tunisian Democracy
2014 Kailash Satyarti/Malala Yousafzai Children's Education
2013 Organisation For The Prohibition Of Chemical Weapons Chemical Weapon Elimination
2012 European Union Advancement of Democracy
2011 Ellen Johnson, Leymah Gobwee, Taawul Karmen
Women's Rights
2010 Liu Xiaobo
Human Rights

FAQ Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize FAQ are below. 

If you do have a further question on the Nobel Peace Prize please post in the comments below.

1. When Is the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize announced: The first full week of October. 

2. When Is the Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony: The ceremony takes place on December. 

3. Who can nominate? Anyone or any group, however, there is a nominator criteria.

4. How many Nobel Peace Prize nominations are received: In 2021 there were over 329 nominations, 71% were for organisations and 29% for individuals.

5. How is the winner decided: The Nobel Committee reaches a consensus on the winner.

6. Will all bookmakers Have Nobel Peace Prize Odds? No, generally only the bigger bookmakers.  


There are no comments here. Be the first to comment...

Please Register / Login to reply to this blog

By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!

We detected you are connecting from United States. We have a different section in our site for users from your country.