Giro d'Italia Preview & Betting Picks

Updated: 352 Cycling

We preview the next edition of the Giro d'Italia which will take place in May with twenty-one stages, who will be crowned the 2025 Giro d'Italia winner? Who will be crowned the 2025 Giro d'Italia King of the Mountain?

Giro d'Italia Preview & Betting Picks
Andy Powell Content Editor

Horse Racing stats man, Andy has contributed to OLBG for 18 years - An Ipswich fan and F1 fanatic, he also contributes EFL football and Motor Sport opinion.

2025 Giro d'Italia

The 2025 Giro d'Italia will be the 108th edition of the race, the race is expected to take place in its normal month of May.

Who will win Giro d'Italia 2025?

For Giro d'Italia predictions and betting tips be sure to head over to our dedicated cycling predictions page to see who the OLBG tipsters are predicting to win the race and also the daily head-to-head markets and stage markets too.

Alternatively, you can try our Best Cycling Experts page which displays only experts who have open picks and over the past twelve months have shown a profit.

Is the Giro d'Italia on tv?

Yes, you can watch the action unfold live, GCN+ has broadcasting rights.

How many kilometers is the Giro d'Italia?

Once the final route of the 2025 Giro d'Italia is announced then we will know the total distance of the tour.

2025 Giro d'Italia Blog Content

Tour de France Betting Guide: Preview, Statistics & Picks

Tour de France Betting Guide: Preview, Statistics & Picks

2024 Giro d'Italia Route - Phase 1 Recap

The race started on the 4th of May and began with back-to-back hilly stages. This first phase consisted of five hilly stages, two flat stages, one mountain stage, and one individual time trial before the first rest day on Monday the 13th of May, this phase covered a total of 1,387 km.

Stage 1
Saturday (4 May)
Venaria Reale to Torino
Hilly stage (136 km)
Jhonatan Narváez (ECU)
Stage 2
Sunday (5 May)
San Francesco al Campo to Santuario di Oropa (Biella)
Hilly stage (150 km)
Tadej Pogačar (SLO)
Stage 3
Monday (6 May)
Novara to Fossano
Flat stage (165 km)
Tim Merlier (BEL)
Stage 4
Tuesday (7 May)
Acqui Terme to Andora
Flat stage (187 km)
Jonathan Milan (ITA)
Stage 5
Wednesday (8 May)
Genova to Lucca
Hilly stage (176 km)
Benjamin Thomas (FRA)
Stage 6
Thursday (9 May)
Viareggio to Rapolano Terme
Hilly stage (177 km)
Pelayo Sánchez (ESP)
Stage 7
Friday (10 May)
Foligno to Perugia
Individual time trial (37.2 km)
Tadej Pogačar (SLO)
Stage 8
Saturday (11 May)
Spoleto to Prati di Tivo
Mountain stage (153 km)
Tadej Pogačar (SLO)
Stage 9
Sunday (12 May)
Avezzano to Napoli
Hilly stage (206 km)
Olav Kooij (NED)
Monday (13 May)Rest day

2024 Giro d'Italia Route - Phase 2 Recap

After the rider's first rest day, they moved on to six more stages which consisted of two flat stages and then one mountain, one hilly, one Intermediate, and one Individual time trial before the second rest day on Monday 20th of May. This second phase of stages covered a total of 957 km with the riders going from Pompei to Livigno.

Stage 10
Tuesday (14 May)
Pompei to Cusano Mutri
Intermediate stage (141 km)
Valentin Paret-Peintre (FRA)
Stage 11
Wednesday (15 May)
Foiano di Val Fortore to Francavilla al Mare
Flat stage (203 km)
Jonathan Milan (ITA)
Stage 12
Thursday (16 May)
Martinsicuro to Fano
Hilly stage (183 km)
Julian Alaphilippe (FRA)
Stage 13
Friday (17 May)
Riccione to Cento
Flat stage (179 km)
Jonathan Milan (ITA)
Stage 14
Saturday (18 May)
Castiglione delle Stiviere to Desenzano del Garda
Individual time trial (31 km)
Filippo Ganna (ITA)
Stage 15
Sunday (19 May)
Manerba del Garda to Livigno
Mountain stage (220 km)
Tadej Pogačar (SLO)
Monday (20 May)Rest day

2024 Giro d'Italia Route - Phase 3 Recap

The riders headed into the home stretch in the final phase as they all head to Rome. The final phase consisted of six stages and things didn't get easier with three mountain stages, two flat stages, and one Intermediate stage with the final stage in Rome on Sunday the 26th of May. The final phase covered 977 km with the entire tour covering a total of 3,321 km (2,068 miles).

Stage 16
Tuesday (21 May)
Livigno to Santa Cristina Valgardena
Mountain stage (202 km)
Tadej Pogačar (SLO)
Stage 17
Wednesday (22 May)
Selva di Val Gardena to Passo del Brocon
Mountain stage (154 km)
Georg Steinhauser (GER)
Stage 18
Thursday (23 May)
Fiera di Primiero to Padova
Flat stage (166 km)
Tim Merlier (BEL)
Stage 19
Friday (24 May)
Mortegliano to Sappada
Intermediate stage (154 km)
Andrea Vendrame (ITA)
Stage 20
Saturday (25 May)
Alpago to Bassano del Grappa
Mountain stage (175 km)
Tadej Pogačar (SLO)
Stage 21
Sunday (26 May)
Rome to Rome
Flat stage (126 km)
Tim Merlier (BEL)

Past Giro d'Italia General Classification Winners

Here are the last ten winners of the Giro d'Italia general classification, Italian riders do have a great record in the race with forty-one Italian riders winning a total of seventy-one of the previous general classifications, however, the tide is turning, since 2008, only four of the seventeen events have been won by Italian riders which include none of the last eight, Vincenzo Nibali success in 2016 was the last. Jai Hindley's (Australia) success in 2022 and Primož Roglič (Slovenia) in 2023 were first-time winners for the countries.

There has not been a back-to-back winner since Miguel Indurain achieved this feat in 1992-93, before him you have to go all of the way back to the 1960s to find the previous rider to win it back-to-back and that was Franco Balmamion in 1962-63.

YearWinnerTeamStage Wins
2024Tadej Pogačar (SVN)UAE Team Emirates6
2023Primož Roglič (SVN)Team Jumbo–Visma1
2022Jai Hindley (AUS)Bora–Hansgrohe1
2021Egan Bernal (COL)Ineos Grenadiers2
2020Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR)Ineos Grenadiers2
2019Richard Carapaz (ECU)Movistar Team2
2018Chris Froome (GBR)Team Sky2
2017Tom Dumoulin (NLD)Team Sunweb2
2016Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)Astana1
2015Alberto Contador (SPA)Tinkoff–Saxo0

Past Giro d'Italia Mountains Classification Winners

This goes to the rider who performs best over the mountains, the King of the Mountains! Each climb is given classification and points are awarded based on difficulty and bonus points also go on offer. Italy and Spain have been the two most dominant forces in this market winning a total of fifty-five between them with thirty-nine for Italy and sixteen for Spain and since 2007 the winner has come from either of those two countries in ten of those eighteen years, however, the tide is turning as neither of them has won it since 2019.

YearWinnerTeamPointsMarginStage Wins
2024Tadej Pogačar (SVN)UAE Team Emirates270646
2023Thibaut Pinot (FRA)Groupama - FDJ237370
2022Koen Bouwman (NLD)Team Jumbo–Visma2941312
2021Geoffrey Bouchard (FRA)AG2R Citroën Team184441
2020Ruben Guerreiro (POR)EF Pro Cycling234771
2019Giulio Ciccone (ITA)Trek–Segafredo2671521
2018Chris Froome (GBR)Team Sky125172
2017Mikel Landa (SPA)Team Sky2241061
2016Mikel Nieve (SPA)Team Sky152181
2015Giovanni Visconti (ITA)Movistar Team12530

Article Contributor Information

The Giro d'Italia content on OLBG has been created and maintained by Andy Powell who through the creation of the content developed an understanding of the sport.

Andy Powell

Andy Powell

Content editor

With a keen eye on the cycling world, Andy provides in-depth analysis, race previews, and comprehensive coverage of cycling events. Andy's contributions establish OLBG as a premier destination for cycling enthusiasts seeking insights and comprehensive coverage.

No Comments

There are no comments here. Be the first to comment...

Keep Reading

By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!