Does the best regular season guarantee Stanley Cup success?

Published: Apr 13, 6:21pm Last Updated: Nov 16, 7:03pm undertherobe on Ice Hockey 1 Comment 1519 Views

I wrote this short blog in 2015 about the curse of winning the President's Trophy in the NHL and it rang true as the New York Rangers became the latest team to fail to lift the Stanley Cup after posting the best regular-season record. 


Since then the President's Trophy winners have continued to fall short.

The President's Trophy is awarded to the team with the best regular-season record and has been awarded since the 1985-86 NHL season. 

After proving themselves to be the best team in the NHL over 82 games, you would imagine that playoff success will follow, particularly with a home-ice advantage throughout the postseason. 

Plenty of NHL bets are placed on the team with the best record but is it a strategy that reaps rewards? 

In 35 seasons, EIGHT President's Trophy Winners have gone on to win the Stanley Cup, a 22.85% strike rate. 

There have been 4 Stanley Cup Winners since 2000. 

In the last 10 seasons, the President's Trophy Winners have been eliminated in the First or second round Round on seven occasions.

The last team to win the President's Trophy and the Stanley Cup were the Chicago Blackhawks.

At the current strike rate, you would need odds of around 4/1 to secure a decent profit from using a system or strategy of just backing Presidents Cup Winners to win the Stanley Cup. 

Year Presidents Trophy Winner Play-Off Performance
1985-86 Edmonton Oilers Lost in Division Finals
1986-87 Edmonton Oilers WON STANLEY CUP
1987-88 Calgary Flames Lost in Division Finals
1988-89 Calgary Flames WON STANLEY CUP
1989-90 Boston Bruins Lost in Stanley Cup Finals
1990-91 Chicago Blackhawks Lost in Division Semi-Finals
1991-92 New York Rangers Lost in Division Finals
1992-93 Pittsburgh Penguins Lost in Division Finals
1993-94 New York Rangers WON STANLEY CUP
1994-95 Detroit Red Wings Lost in Stanley Cup Finals
1995-96 Detroit Red Wings Lost in Conference Finals
1996-97 Colorado Avalanche Lost in Conference Finals
1997-98 Dallas Stars Lost in Conference Finals
1998-99 Dallas Stars WON STANLEY CUP
1999-2000 St. Louis Blues Lost in First Round
2000-01 Colorado Avalanche WON STANLEY CUP
2001-02 Detroit Red Wings WON STANLEY CUP
2002-03 Ottawa Senators Lost in Conference Finals
2003-04 Detroit Red Wings Lost in Conference Semi-Finals
2005-06 Detroit Red Wings Lost in First Round
2006-07 Buffalo Sabres Lost in Conference Finals
2007-08 Detroit Red Wings WON STANLEY CUP
2008-09 San Jose Sharks Lost in First Round
2009-10 Washington Capitals Lost in First Round
2010-11 Vancouver Canucks Lost in Stanley Cup Finals
2011-12 Vancouver Canucks Lost in First Round
2012-13 Chicago Blackhawks WON STANLEY CUP
2013-14 Boston Bruins Lost in Conference Semi-Finals
2014-15 New York Rangers Lost in Conference Finals
2015-16 Washington Capitals Lost In Second Round
2016-17 Washington Capitals Lost in Second Round
2017-18 Nashville Predators Lost In Second Round
2018-19 Tampa Bay Lightning Lost In First Round
2019-20 Boston Bruins Lost In Second Round


There are no comments here. Be the first to comment...

Please Register / Login to reply to this blog

By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!

We detected you are connecting from United States. We have a different section in our site for users from your country.