Cristiano Ronaldo odds SLASHED to 7/2 for the PFA Player of the Year award after return to Man Utd

Updated: 135

Cristiano Ronaldo odds SLASHED to 7/2 for the PFA Player of the Year award after return to Man Utd
Jake Ashton Senior News Editor

Jake is a Football and Entertainment betting expert, with a Man City season ticket and a deep knowledge of reality TV betting angles

  • Ronaldo originally 7/1 with bookmakers when return was first announced, but cut into 7/2 after brace on debut
  • Teammate Bruno Fernandes 8/1 to win the award this year with betting sites
  • Bookmakers give Kevin De Bruyne a 9/1 chance to retain the award he won last year, this season

Cristiano Ronaldo cut into 7/2 to win the PFA POTY award this year

After an impressive debut against Newcastle last weekend, the chatter already turned to Cristiano Ronaldo being the player of the year this season. Betting sites had already slashed Ronaldo from 7/1 down to 4/1 after his two goals helped Man United run out as 4-1 winners against Newcastle on Saturday and then thoughts immediately turned to their game against Young Boys in the midweek. 

Ronaldo scored the opener but United were shockingly beaten 2-1 by Young Boys, but this strengthened Ronaldo's chances for the PFA award according to betting sites, with his odds tumbling further down to 7/2.

Man Utd teammate Bruno Fernandes second favourite at 8/1

Bruno Fernandes has had a great start to the season, with 4 goals in the first 4 games of this campaign. Similar to Ronaldo, Fernandes odds have slowly been tumbling down from the 12/1 that he was at to win the award at the start of the season with bookmakers. Paul Pogba is the other Man Utd player that features fairly lower down in the odds, with betting sites giving him a 20/1 chance of winning the PFA POTY award this season.

PFA Player of the Year Odds Probability
Cristiano Ronaldo 7/2 22.2%
Bruno Fernandes 8/1 11.1%
Romelu Lukaku 17/2 10.5%
Kevin De Bruyne 9/1 10%
Mo Salah 12/1 7.7%

Kevin De Bruyne 9/1 to win it for the 3rd year in a row

Bookmakers give a 10% chance that Kevin De Bruyne wins the PFA Player of the Year award for the third year in a row, after back to back impressive seasons saw him voted for it by his peers. De Bruyne has started the season off slowly after injuries have seen him miss games, but he returned for Man City in the Champions League against RB Leipzig and will be looking to kick on this season now. 

Mo Salah is also a previous winner of the award, winning it in the 2017-18 season, and betting sites give him a 12/1 chance of winning the award again this year. The Egyptian forward has already scored 3 goals so far this season in the league and was the newest member of the Premier League 100 club after his goal against Leeds last weekend.

Kevin De Bruyne has just a 10% chance of regaining his PFA POTY award title this season according to bookmakers

Jake Ashton - Sports Betting Specialist -

Our blog looks further into the history of the PFA Player of the Year award and a whole host of odds for the award here.  

No Comments

There are no comments here. Be the first to comment...

Keep Reading

By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!