Windows 10- trying to install-now without permission.

UnderdogsLover
Stallion
Tips
Posts: 7035
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:00 am
Location: Somewhere nice and warm.

Windows 10- trying to install-now without permission.

Postby UnderdogsLover » Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:55 am

Hello all,

Since yesterday, Windows 10- trying to install now without my permission.
1: As weeks when it comes on, can delete with no problem.
( Meaning i do not want to install it, caused me problems last time.)
2: Now it only matter of hours, be for it will install.
Feel that s wrong- if you don t want it to instal just click it off screen.
Now you got no choice, only matter hours, be for instal be for it
upgrades by itself..

Now to question- Does anybody know Windows email address?
So can complain to them, if instal next 8 hours automatically.
Had to get someone to come out, get it back to computer windows
was built in etc..
With thanks UnderDog...

DAVIDADAN
Stallion
User avatar
Betting Blog Tips
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby DAVIDADAN » Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:55 am

Hi UnderdogsLover.
I personally have been using Windows 10 on one of my laptops
for a long time now, and I really like it, you may if you give it time?
From what I understand Windows claim it will not install without your
express permission.... Think back you surely must have clicked on
something along the way, inadvertently....?

It is clear some Windows 7 and 8 users are frustrated by the press
coverage but it should be relatively straightforward to revert to
the system of your choice.
https://www.theguardian.com/technology/ ... lain-users

Do make sure you back everything up first.

This official Windows 10 blog may help:
https://blogs.windows.com/windowsexperi ... 10/#_blank

UnderdogsLover
Stallion
Tips
Posts: 7035
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:00 am
Location: Somewhere nice and warm.

Postby UnderdogsLover » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:27 pm

Hi DAVIDADAN,

Oh yes for got back up- friend put it on, one of those oblong shape ones.
yea coming back, incase happens again..
Took nearly all morning, get back to windows computer was built in.

First am not sure what i did? bit below.
Think back you surely must have clicked on
something along the way, inadvertently....?

When windows 10 come, see it some sort of box thing, i just
click it off of screen- been doing on and off since updates bit
come on regularly etc..

So you reckon know i should try windows 10 again?
As know you say I personally have been using Windows 10 on one of my laptops
for a long time now, and I really like it, you may if you give it time?

As last time it installed the games i play some of them don t work.
Maybe they improved it now?
like play games online helps you relaxed :), was withdrawn when could nt play them.
Thank you for the links.
And thanks bout you reminded i have got windows 8 on back up thanks..

nelix847
Stallion
Tips
Posts: 6289
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:00 am

Postby nelix847 » Tue May 10, 2016 9:04 am

Microsoft is forcing people now to upgrade to windows 10and I feel sorry for business who run older windows all these years with out problem. The other day Microsoft did a update on windows 7 and on some asus motherboard if you installed using UEFI mode it bricked your motherboard until you formatted into legacy.

How ever I have been using windows 10 my self and I like it a lot. Its a lot better then 8.1 and 7 in my opinion. I have Track Ir 5 pro and on windows 8.1 it was having compatibility issues but with windows 10 it works fine. So older hardware works a lot better on windows 10 too.

I am buying a new PC in next couple of month when the NVidia 1080 gtx comes out with windows 10 already on it so yeah I am happy with it and with the start menu back its like windows 7 any way but a lot better.
I stake low on bets.(Real Life)

If i had a double headed coin I would still loose and if i had a lucky rabbits foot it would bring as much luck as it did the rabbit.

One A Day Horse Racing #2 June 2013
One A Day Racing - Week 2 #1 December 2013

Bobsselections
At Stud
Tips
Posts: 3303
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Gosport, Hampshire

Postby Bobsselections » Tue May 10, 2016 9:19 am

Changed to Windows 10 about a week or two ago and ever since when i turn my computer off it switches itself back on two or three minutes later.
I am shutting down and not clicking sleep although i have tried both.
This is winding me up big style.
Is there any member who knows how i can stop this, if there is could you help me with this please but not with too much techno talk as that will just confuse me further.

Betfairalfie
Stallion
User avatar
Betting Blog Tips
Posts: 8974
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:00 am

Postby Betfairalfie » Tue May 10, 2016 9:33 am

If you Google Windows 10 not shutting down, you will get several answers.

Seems like a common problem and several solutions exist. I swapped to Win10 without major problems so I guess I\'m one of the lucky ones.

DAVIDADAN
Stallion
User avatar
Betting Blog Tips
Posts: 5648
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 11:00 pm
Contact:

Postby DAVIDADAN » Tue May 10, 2016 10:23 am

I've never had such a problem with closing down, maybe your mouse or trackpad is very sensitive and actually clicking on restart without you noticing?
I'm not one for games, but as far as I'm concerned XP and Windows 8
are history.

Bobsselections
At Stud
Tips
Posts: 3303
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Gosport, Hampshire

Postby Bobsselections » Tue May 10, 2016 11:01 am

If you Google Windows 10 not shutting down, you will get several answers.
Cheers Betfairalfie that obvious approach of using google just did not enter my mind where i had allowed this to wind me up so much but sorted with a 43 second Youtube clip.
Any other members have this problem in the future here is a link to the solution.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDWtGC5VbEM
maybe your mouse or trackpad is very sensitive and actually clicking on restart without you noticing?
Thanks for trying to help DAVIDADAN but i knew this was not the problem as a restart would start the computer up straight away whereas the computer was turning off and then turning back on again several minutes later.

Betfairalfie
Stallion
User avatar
Betting Blog Tips
Posts: 8974
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:00 am

Postby Betfairalfie » Tue May 10, 2016 2:00 pm

Bob. Pleased to help. Sometimes the obvious evades us when surrounded by the red cloud of techno-rage.

nelix847
Stallion
Tips
Posts: 6289
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:00 am

Postby nelix847 » Tue May 10, 2016 2:47 pm

A new update out today PC Update Adds Unlocked Frame Rate, FreeSync, G-Sync.

Only time I have a problem with shutting down is when a new NVidia driver comes out. For some reason I have to do reset by the button as start menu bricks and will not open until after restart.
I stake low on bets.(Real Life)

If i had a double headed coin I would still loose and if i had a lucky rabbits foot it would bring as much luck as it did the rabbit.

One A Day Horse Racing #2 June 2013
One A Day Racing - Week 2 #1 December 2013

UnderdogsLover
Stallion
Tips
Posts: 7035
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:00 am
Location: Somewhere nice and warm.

Postby UnderdogsLover » Tue May 10, 2016 5:29 pm

:) Latest on my update..
So for ok 7/10 , as just know getting use to the new look,
think they are all in different places from windows 8!!
Such as logging off- am founding my around it now.
Takes time to get use to it etc..
As for the games :cool: know they are working fine..
First time id used it some of my favourite online games did not work,
so they have touch wood solved that problem now... :)

Also yes forgot did back up on windows 8, thanks for reminding me..
So could go back to it if want to know!!
But staying with Windows 10 for now..
Takes ages to install everything etc..
Can t even play games on computer, when its downloading everything.
So thats the only draw back..

Next update sometime early Summer..
Also very interesting views on here to thanks..

nelix847
Stallion
Tips
Posts: 6289
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:00 am

Postby nelix847 » Tue May 10, 2016 7:20 pm

UnderdogsLover Takes ages to install windows 10? It fastest one yet and don't have to bother with loads of updates like previous. What your PC spec if you no?. Might need a new Hard Drive or SSD.

If games don't work right run in compatibility mode too. Right click on launcher exe, properties, Compatibility tab, Under compatibility mode tick the box and choose which ever works best.

At the moment I am replaying bioshock 1 on windows 10 and the sound didn't work. after looking people said to run it in windows XP (Service Pack 2). It worked sound came on.
I stake low on bets.(Real Life)

If i had a double headed coin I would still loose and if i had a lucky rabbits foot it would bring as much luck as it did the rabbit.

One A Day Horse Racing #2 June 2013
One A Day Racing - Week 2 #1 December 2013

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users