My personal OLBG-driven charity initiative!

botev1921
Stallion
Betting Blog Tips

My personal OLBG-driven charity initiative!

Postby botev1921 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 2:07 am

In recent weeks I have returned permanently to my home town in Bulgaria and have been spending a lot of time with the junior teams at my local football club, which has unfortunately dropped to third division in a matter of three years with two relegations. The name I use here on OLBG is actually the name of my football club, which I have been supporting for over 15 years now and most of those years have been spent in the lower leagues of Bulgarian football.

Our football club is your typical Eastern European sad story of once great, state-financed club, which went to hell when badly executed "democracy" hit the once blooming industrial town and the local chemical factory has been shut. In just over 20 years, the town had lost almost 1/3 of its population due to unemployment and lack of credible leadership. Most people who have spent years in the factory either left or had to seek new qualification in order to find work. Currently close to half of the population still living here is close to or already retired and as a result the city is now known as "the poorest city in the poorest region of the European Union". The average salary is app. 180 pounds a month and the pensions are as low as 80 pounds a month. The only joy left to most of the people who for one reason or another stayed behind is football and imagine that - football in the low leagues facing amateur teams from local villages.